Sokaogon Chippewa Community News

Ode’-imini-Giizis (Strawberry Moon) Powwow 2018

By: Tina L. Van Zile

It was another great year for the Ode’-imini-Giizis Powwow. We had 177 registered dancers for the weekend.

For the first time in years, we had beautiful weather all weekend. We had a bigger crowd this year, and by the Saturday evening session the dance arena was packed. We kept it fun with many spot dances to encourage everyone to come on out and dance.

Our Host Drum, Big Soldier Creek from Mayetta, KS, did an awesome job this weekend. Our invited drums were: Fire Nation from Forest County Potawatomi, Wolf River from Menominee Nation and Swamp Creek Broz from Mole Lake. We also had five walk-in drums.

Our head dancers were Travis Thelen from Forest County Potawatomi and Connie Danforth from the Oneida Nation. Our Emcee was Joey Awonohopay from the Menominee Nation. Our first time Arena Director was Pete Awonohopay from the Menominee Nation.

We only had one youth sign up for the senior division and one for the junior division for the princess contest. Our new 2018-2019 princesses are Bella Toyebo (Sr.) and Aarris Mickelson (Jr.).

The powwow committee sponsored a Men’s Traditional Special and a Two-Step Special with cash prizes of $200 for first place, $150 for second place, and $100 for third place for both specials.

Men’s Traditional Special Winners – 3rd place: Thomas Pecore; 2nd place: Nick Shepard, Sr.; 1st place: Kenny Funmaker, Sr.

2-Step Special Winners –
3rd place: Kenny Dodge & Una Ross; 2nd place: Cheryl & Kenny Funmaker, Sr.; 1st place: Garrett Christensen & Kiona Poupart

On Saturday afternoon, Wolf River Singers sang the Snake Dance and the audience seemed to really enjoy it because I heard a bunch of cheering and clapping during that dance.

There are so many people to thank when it comes to the powwow because there is not one person who could plan and do all the work alone. So, I would like to thank the following people:

Sage Dalton, Devon Evans, Macy Poler, Nathan Carter, Sara Lucia-Ipsa, Serra Laubert, Cheryl Marvin, Ashley McGeshick, Jamie Jameson, Yvette McGeshick, Vickie Ackley, Joel Polar, Tashena Van Zile, Rikki Frank, Rick Van Zile, Nathan Podany, Ken McNinch, Roger Maki, Jonathan McGeshick, Serena Poler, Amanda Swanson, Nevaeh Fox, Nancy Kane, Virginia Poler, Maxine Trudeau, Trisha Garrow, Felicia Rachal and Jennifer Granada.

Rikki Frank and Macy Poler, Summer Youth Worker, helped with garbage and recycling

Beautiful cooks (and sisters) who work so
hard to cook the feast – Virginia Poler, Maxine Trudeau and Nancy Kane

Please forgive me if I have forgotten anyone. Each of these people did something in some way for the powwow and it was greatly appreciated.

I would also like to thank our powwow sponsors: Mole Lake Casino (Bryan Tate), Sokaogon Finance (Jimmy Landru, Jr.), Native American Tourism of Wisconsin (NATOW) (Cheyenne Landru), Sokaogon Tribal Historic Preservation Department (Adam VanZile) and Sokaogon Tribal Operations (Vickie Ackley and the Tribal Council).

There are dozens of photos on our Facebook page. View the video from the Powwow:

It was a good year and I hope everyone who came on out enjoyed themselves because we do this for you and our community.